The New Patriotic Party (NPP) on Friday April 29 and Saturday April 30 held primaries in 220 constituencies across the country to choose Parliamentary candidates for the 2012 General elections.

In Berekum, Hon. Kwaku Agyenim-Boateng, the incumbent Member of Parliament, was acclaimed the parties representative for 2012 general elections for the constituency, since he went un-opposed.

Elections for the remaining 10 constituencies, where the seats are held by Independent candidates, will be held at a later date, according to the party. The elections produced some major upsets, with some incumbent MPs losing the opportunity to run again. Among the heavyweights who lost were Maxwell Kofi Jumah, MP for Asokwa who lost to Patricia Appiagyei; Stephen Kwaku Balado Manu, MP for Ahafo Ano South; Yaw Baah, long serving MP for Kumawu; Prof Samuel Amoako who won just two votes in the Abuakwa North primary, and Edward Ennin, MP for Obuasi, who lost to former Communications Director of the party Kwaku Kwarteng. Grace Omaboe also failed to get the nod again when she contested for the Abirem slot.

The new entrants include Ursula Owusu for the Ablekuma South constituency, Frances Asiam for Adenta, and Francis Manu-Adabor for Ahafo Ano South.

The contest in Atwima Kwanwoma produced a tie; a date for a re-run has not been fixed yet.

Pin It